Ok, so keeping with my current theme of horribly late topical commentary.

Well, maybe not completely late. What caused me to think about this was Christmas, but my complaint has nothing to do with that. Hershey Kisses. Prior to last Christmas, I haven’t had one in years. Maybe even closer to a decade. I remember that I would pop those things in my mouth like popcorn. Sometimes I would line my molars with four of them at a time and then chomp down (and of course they had been in the freezer). They tasted great, smooth with a chocolatey aftertaste. Good enough that is was worth (to me at least) the extra cost over the generic pasty garbage that would only mascaraed around as chocolate. So you can imagine my surprise when, years later, I bite into a Hershey Kiss this past Christmas and uuuuuuuhhh! What happened? It was the same gritty, pasty, nasty aftertaste cat litter detritus of all the other pedestrian mucky-muck that you won’t even flush down the toilet. It was bad enough that I found myself checking the next piece (I’m a bit like Homer Simpson that way) for that white stuff you find on really old, bad chocolate. Not there. Of course, I knew that I wasn’t eating stale chocolate, but my mind just won’t accept what my tongue was telling me. If I had sharp Photoshop skills I would make a picture of a biohazard bag in the shape of a Hershey Kiss. I blame Wall street. In this never ending pursuit of the all-mighty dollar, they have allowed the hallmark of the Hershey company to go into the crapper. Good job. Of course being the growing cynic that I am, I am forced to wonder if this is a simple profit increasing strategy of is it more involved than that. Perhaps a drop in the quality of milk chocolate (in general – not just the kiss) is part of a larger effort to push people towards the more expensive dark chocolate (my current love affair). Ah, what do I know. I’m just a grasshopper.

Feel free to ignore what’s below, seriously. I’ll be writing more about it later, but basically it’s just a little hobby of mine. I want to see if I can get a website I made to rank at least on page one of Google’s results page. One way of doing that is to “drop” links to your site around the internet. I’m having trouble getting Google’s spiders to visit my site on regular basis. Sooo, if I take advantage of Google’s infatuation with wordpress.com by dropping a link here, when the spiders come crawling, they will discover to the link to my “other” site and hopefully stop by for a visit.

fijifilm finepix f50fd finepix f50

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

