Cimicomorpha. So that’s what you’re called.

Back in July I wrote two little blurbs about me hopping around (again, I’m a grasshopper) and running (or hopping) into a rather suspicious looking bug who recently moved into the neighborhood. We exchanged pleasantries, but never really made a connection. I had a feeling I should keep my distance and it turns out it was with good reason. Looks like this mouth-breathing, knuckle-dragging troglodyte of an insect is a member of a large family of predatory insects. Bugs such the: assassin bug, ambush bug, masked hunter, and kissing bug. They lay in wait, then attack by stabbing their victims with their proboscis injecting a toxic concoction that liquefies the inerts. Tasty. There are also members that go after warm-blooded animals (including humans) by stabbing soft areas of the body such as lips, eyes, and inside nose. Sleep tight. Oh, and some transmit disease such as Chagas by passing along a lovely little trypanosome. A little late to learn of this now, but the good thing is that about a week after my last post, I found the little bugger dead in the bushes. Didn’t have my trusty camera at the time. First post is here, there-goes-the-neighborhood and the second is here, hey-punk-get-off-my-lawn.

neigh2.jpg

-the hopper dancing-banana.gif

fujifimf50fd digital camera

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

