Bush says goodbye to Gonzales with all the sincerity one could possibly muster reading word for word.

I am absolutely astonished by what journalists have been saying about Bush’s speech yesterday commenting on Gonzales’ leaving. Practically everyone I heard characterized his speech as being punctuated with anger. Really? Was I watching and listening to the same speech they were? All I saw was the same, “Do I have to?” or “Can’t Cheney get someone to do this for me?” look that he has had for just about every speech that he has ever given. What I found most astonishing was that it was sooo painfully obvious that 1) He didn’t write the speech, 2) He in no way prepared for the speech, and 3) He was so completely disengaged that when he got to the line where he said that Gonzales’ good name was dragged through the mud, he actually had to stop when he got to the “through the”, turn to the next page, and REEEEAD the word “mud”! AAAAAAA!!!!! I think I feel blood running out of my ears. Am I the only one who saw that? Anyone? Anyone? Please! Someone say they saw it too! You should be able to find a video of his speech at http://abcnews.go.com/politics. I just can’t be the only one to have seen that.

Leave a Reply

