The NFL and Michael Vick

Perhaps its that tiny shred of innocence that is still left in me that is so shocked at the apparent lack of concern the NFL seems to be displaying for the brutality that Vick has now admitted to. At what point do we loose that innocence? That part of you that shy’s away from the evils of man. I actually heard a news story in which they played a blurb from one of the sports shows in Atlanta. One of the hosts actually said that he didn’t care what Vick did and that if he owned a team, and if Vick was cut from the Falcons, that he would pay whatever it took to get him. I’m left wondering if it is possible for there to be any more of a worthless person than this individual (I wish I remember his name). I suppose it is possible that he was simply trying to drum up the ratings, but does that make his statements any more acceptable? What would Vick have to do before that poster child for abortion says enough is enough? But I digress. It seems to me that what the NFL is really waiting for is to see how much marketability Vick still has. Of course, their official line is that they want to see how the gambling charges play out. Gambling?… Gambling? In the list of obscenities that Vick has admitted to, gambling is what the NFL is focused on? Could it be that they are focused on this because there is more legal wiggle room? It certainly appears that Vick’s defense team understands this. They are trying to pacify the prosecution by admitting to the lesser charge while fighting tooth and nail on the gambling. Basically saying, “Accept what we are giving you or we will make this as expensive as we can for the taxpayers.” Let’s say he does wiggle out (his defense is saying that while he financed the gambling, he never participated in or benefited from the gambling itself). What should do the NFL do? Allow him to continue to play? Basically sanctioning his behavior much like the Senate sanctioned the sexual overtures Mark Foley made to Congressional Pages? Beating, drowning, hanging, and electrocuting any animal (not so sure about plants) in and of itself should be the only provocation the NFL needs. The cynic in me says that the NFL and that radio host are just as bastardly as Vick. I’m still trying to hold on to that shred of innocence, but the older I get, the more fleeting it becomes.

2 Responses to “The NFL and Michael Vick”

  1. animalchaplain Says:

    Your innocense is beautiful. I hope you always stay innocent!

    If there is anything good about the Michael Vick story, it is that there is an emerging increased awareness about animal cruelty and animal fighting. There is so much anger about this issue. If we channel it into a positive direction, hopefully, something good can come of it. However…

    I watched Vick’s public apology with my little son who USED TO wear Michael Vick jerseys to school. It is disturbing to think a certain percentage of the population is honestly going to be swayed by Michael Vick’s “enlightenment” carefully crafted by his overpaid attorneys. Call me a cynic, but I don’t believe a man who has been allegedly torturing animals since childhood coincidentally has a religious epiphany as a result of getting caught and losing his job. I hope I am wrong.

    I think it is a sad commentary that we, as a culture, are using the Vick story to compare “What’s worse?” “What’s worse”, we ask, “carelessly fathering illegitimate children, or dogfighting?”. “Dogfighting or gambling?” “Dogfighting or rape?” “Dogfighting or racism?” “Dogfighting or hateful nationalism?” “Dogfighting or (fill in the blank)….?” The comparisons to dogfighting have been endless.

    Dogfighting is one more piece of evidence our country is in need of a spiritual transformation (please note I said spiritual and not necessarily religious). Animals are sentient beings – they feel pain, and they suffer, just like we do. They are not more important, or less important than human beings, but like human beings, they are important, too.

    Dogfighting pits one dog against another until one of them dies. The survivor gets his flesh torn off, ears ripped off, eyes pulled out, etc., and the reward for being “a winner” is to writhe in pain until the next fight. Enough said. The pictures make my flesh crawl. The losers are tortured, beaten, starved, electrocuted or drowned. For what? Because these poor creatures were unlucky enough to be born a dog!

    Every major faith teaches its followers to be responsible stewards of animals and the Earth. Please help us get the word out that caring for animals, just like caring for people, is an important part of just being a decent person and citizen. If we make this a priority, there will be no more dogfighting horror stories, and no more pointless comparisons of evils. Let us all rise, together, to be better people than we are today, shall we?

    Chaplain Nancy Cronk
    Founder, http://www.AnimalChaplains.com

  2. deadgrasshopper Says:

    Hey Nancy,

    Ya know, I think the worst part about your comment is the fact that its longer than all but two of the posts I’ve ever written here? Your making me look bad. 🙂 I guess I’ll have to put more effort into it.

    I’m not sure there is anything more I can add to what you wrote. Spot on. I will say that I like your perspective on the pro-Vick crowd (and people like them) trying to defend his actions by comparing one evil against another. I hadn’t thought of that, its refreshing. See, those are the kinds of surprises I like.

    Ruff… actually I’m a cat person.

Leave a Reply

